Advice for a First Time Marahoner?

I have run half marathons, 5ks, 10ks, and so on for either fun or to challenge my times. However, now that I am not going to be able to work while I am an exchange student here in Trier, Germany I am going to have extra free time on my hands to train for my first Marathon. I am not entirely familiar with any races here in the German or EU region, so if anybody knows of anybody who does that would be great to let me know which ones I should do!

I have looked at a few websites for the German region but those are only helpful to an extent. So far, I am simply happy being able to run and train for more hills. My university is located in an entire region of hills so I’ll definitely get a work out for the glutes in. Always keep in mind though never to over train on one specific group of muscles or training regiment. This will be hard for me to do non-hill work outs unless I find a treadmill (machines that I hate with a passion- I hate running inside). My only concern now is my asthma. I was recently diagnosed with intermittent asthma (not that bad), but it does suck to run with now plus I am in a more populated, thus a more polluted, area.

Thankfully, when I ran again in the Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon back home in Duluth, MN my asthma didn’t act up AND I set myself a PR by shaving off 20 min of my time!! I was aiming for 10 min or so but 20 is amazing for me in one race!! Training one’s butt off really does pay off in the end! I am also hoping to find a running buddy in the area. I have already seen a ton of bikers and runners compared to back home. I’m not saying that there aren’t any, but compared to here where nearly everyone is either biking, walking, or taking public transport? Yeah it’s a lot I have already noticed…

As I mentioned earlier, I would greatly appreciate any race recommendations! I have the Bonn Marathon in mind but any others I would love to hear about too!!

2 thoughts on “Advice for a First Time Marahoner?

  1. If you don’t mind traveling, you should do Paris. It is in April, so you have time to get ready! It goes through some of the main landmarks, and it’s pretty flat. If you train with hills it will be peace of cake.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

